ITS-CC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

ITS-CC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • The Information Technology Specialist - Cloud Computing exam requires a scaled score of 700 on a 1-1000 scale.
  • 700 is a scaled score, not a raw 70% requirement, so do not convert it to a question count.
  • Expect 35-45 questions in a maximum of 50 timed minutes, according to the Pearson MindhubPro listing.
  • The exam-only voucher is USD 127 on MindhubPro and expires 12 months after purchase.

The Number: 700 on a 1-1000 Scale

The passing score for the IT Specialist - Cloud Computing exam is 700 on a scale of 1 to 1000. That figure comes from Certiport's published scoring policy, and it applies to this credential, which is issued by Pearson and administered by Certiport, a Pearson VUE business. If you have seen other certifications that share the "ITS-CC" abbreviation quoted with different thresholds, ignore them. This article is only about Information Technology Specialist - Cloud Computing.

The score report you receive after the exam will show a number on that 1-1000 range. A result of 700 or higher is a pass. Anything below 700 is a fail, and you would need a new voucher or a retake option to try again. There is no partial credit toward the credential and no separate pass mark per domain that has been published.

If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, the overview pages What Is ITS-CC? and What Is ITS-CC Certification? cover the basics before you dig into scoring.

Why 700 Is Not a 70% Requirement

The most common mistake candidates make is reading "700 out of 1000" as "70% correct." Certiport describes the passing mark as a scaled score, which means your raw performance is converted onto the 1-1000 range through a statistical process. The practical consequences matter for how you prepare:

  • You cannot compute a safe number of misses. With a variable question count of 35-45, there is no fixed "you may miss X questions" rule that Certiport has published.
  • Different forms may differ slightly in difficulty. Scaling exists so that a candidate who sees a somewhat harder set of questions is not penalized relative to one who sees an easier set. The scaling method itself is not detailed publicly.
  • Question weighting is not disclosed. Do not assume every item contributes equally to your final scaled score.
Do not convert 700 to a raw target: Any article, forum post, or practice tool that tells you "you need exactly 25 correct answers" is guessing. The issuer publishes the 700 threshold and the 1-1000 scale, not a raw-score conversion. Aim for broad competence across all five objective areas rather than a calculated minimum.

Because the score is scaled, the healthiest preparation goal is mastery of the objectives, not gaming a threshold. For a sense of how demanding that mastery actually is, see How Hard Is the ITS-CC Exam?

The Exam Behind the Score: Format and Timing

Your score is produced by a computer-based, proctored knowledge assessment. According to the Pearson MindhubPro listing, the exam runs 35-45 questions with a 50-minute maximum. That is a variable range, not a fixed form count, so two candidates may sit exams with different numbers of items.

Exam DetailWhat the Issuer Publishes
Passing score700 on a 1-1000 scaled range
Question countEstimated 35-45 (variable, not a fixed form count)
Time limit50 minutes maximum, timed exam time only
DeliveryComputer-based, proctored: Pearson VUE test centers, OnVUE online, or a Certiport Authorized Testing Center (CATC)
Pass rateNot published by Certiport
PrerequisitesNo degree requirement; about 150 hours of preparation suggested as a readiness profile

What the 50 minutes include

The 50-minute limit is timed exam time. Certiport's exam-length guidance states it excludes administration steps and the tutorial, so the clock is running only while you answer questions. With up to 45 items in 50 minutes, you have a little over a minute per question on a full-length form. That favors candidates who recognize cloud terminology instantly over those who have to reason from scratch.

Question interface

Certiport's IT Specialist Exam Tutorial (a 2021 document) describes how answer options are navigated on screen. Its generic question estimate is older than the exam-specific listing, so rely on the 35-45 figure for this exam and use the tutorial only for interface orientation. Spend a few minutes with it before test day so the navigation is familiar and none of your 50 minutes go to figuring out the interface.

Proctoring rules that touch your score

If you test through OnVUE, expect a system check and a live webcam proctor. At a CATC, expect photo and signature ID, an NDA, parental consent if you are under 18, and a prohibition on personal paper and communication devices. A rule violation can invalidate a result regardless of how many answers you got right, so treat the procedures as part of the exam. Details on scheduling windows live in ITS-CC Exam Dates 2026.

Five Domains, No Published Weights

The exam objectives are organized under five headings. Pearson's objectives document is explicit that these are exam objectives, not a preparation curriculum, and no official percentage weights are published. That means you cannot rank domains by how many points they are worth. What you can do is learn each area well enough that no single domain becomes a drag on your scaled score.

Domain 1: Cloud Concepts

The vocabulary and mental models of cloud computing. The outline is vendor-neutral but expects fundamental AWS and Azure terminology.

  • Core service and deployment model language
  • Major provider terminology at a fundamentals level
  • Newer topics reported in the issuer's update notice: edge computing, containers, microservices, and serverless architecture

Domain 2: Developing cloud architecture

How cloud solutions are structured and how architectural choices are reasoned about.

  • Recognizing how components fit together in a cloud design
  • Matching architectural patterns, including microservices and serverless, to needs

Domain 3: Implementing the cloud development life cycle

How cloud applications are built and managed through their life cycle.

  • Development life cycle stages as they apply to cloud work
  • Container-based approaches to packaging and running applications

Domain 4: Deploy the application

Moving an application into a cloud environment.

  • Deployment concepts and terminology
  • How deployment choices relate to the architectural decisions from earlier domains

Domain 5: Understanding cloud governance

The policy, control, and oversight side of running workloads in the cloud.

  • Governance concepts as a fundamentals-level topic area

For a deeper walk through each area, read ITS-CC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas. Notice the exact heading wording: "Cloud Concepts" and "Deploy the application" are the issuer's phrasing, and you may see older practice products use different labels. Study against the official objective names.

Building a 700+ Strategy Around the Objectives

Because the score is scaled and the domains are unweighted in public documentation, the sensible approach is breadth first, then depth where you are weakest. This is the one place a schedule helps, so here is a short plan tied to the actual domains rather than generic advice.

Weeks 1-2

Cloud Concepts first

  • Build fluency in AWS and Azure fundamentals-level terms, since later domains assume this vocabulary.
  • Learn edge computing, containers, microservices, and serverless well enough to explain each in a sentence.
Weeks 3-4

Architecture and life cycle

  • Study Domain 2 and Domain 3 together, because architectural patterns and development life cycle questions overlap in practice.
Week 5

Deployment and governance

  • Cover Domain 4 and Domain 5, then revisit the weakest earlier topic.
Final stretch

Timed mixed practice

  • Practice answering at a pace of just over a minute per question to mirror the 50-minute limit.

The program suggests roughly 150 hours of preparation, and objective profiles describe at least that. Treat this as a readiness profile rather than a logged-hours application requirement; nobody verifies your hours before you register. If you are starting from little cloud exposure, plan toward the higher end. The full planning framework is in the ITS-CC Study Guide 2026, and a condensed refresher is available in the ITS-CC Cheat Sheet.

Key Takeaway

With no published domain weights and a scaled score, a weak area cannot be offset by guessing which domain "counts more." Cover all five objectives to a working level, and use timed practice to confirm you can answer fast enough for a 50-minute limit.

Realistic practice matters here. Work through scenario-style items in the ITS-CC practice tests so the question phrasing feels familiar before exam day.

Registration and Fee Mechanics That Affect Your Attempt

Your score only counts if you sit the exam under valid conditions, and the voucher rules can affect when and how you attempt it. There are two distinct purchase routes with different terms:

OptionPriceKey Conditions
Pearson MindhubPro exam-only voucherUSD 127 (web/member pricing)Country-restricted and unavailable in some markets; expires 12 months after purchase
Certiport store voucher with retakeUSD 133US-only, CATC use only; proctoring may cost extra; not usable at Pearson VUE centers or through OnVUE

Two details deserve attention. First, the MindhubPro voucher's 12-month expiry is separate from credential validity; it only limits how long you have to use the voucher. Second, the retake-inclusive voucher is the one to consider if you are uneasy about passing on the first attempt, but it is locked to the CATC channel, so it only works if a testing center near you offers it. Full pricing context is in ITS-CC Certification Cost 2026, and eligibility questions are answered in ITS-CC Requirements 2026.

Match your voucher to your testing channel: A voucher bought for the CATC route cannot be redeemed at a Pearson VUE center or via OnVUE. Decide where you will test before you buy, so a failed channel match does not cost you an attempt or delay your score.

What Happens After You Pass

Passing earns the IT Specialist - Cloud Computing certification. For awards on or after 2025-06-18, the credential is valid for five years; earlier awards remain nonexpiring. Recertification means purchasing a new voucher and passing the current exam, so a score of 700 today does not carry forward indefinitely for newer awards.

As an entry-level, vendor-neutral credential, it tends to support early-career and career-change applicants who want to show cloud fundamentals on a resume. It is a Pearson credential, not an AWS or Microsoft credential, so employers who specifically require a vendor certification will still look for those separately. For the hiring side, read ITS-CC Jobs; for earnings context, ITS-CC Salary Guide 2026; and for the value question, Is the ITS-CC Certification Worth It?

A Note on Exam Versions and Updates

Certiport's blog post on IT Specialist updates, dated May 14, 2025 and subsequently maintained, reports July additions or updates covering major providers, edge computing, containers, microservices, and serverless architecture. Those topics appear in the Pearson objectives PDF. However, the blog's Cloud section does not specify the year, and the Certiport content-update archive separately lists an English Cloud update for July 21, 2026. The objectives PDF carries no explicit version identifier tying it to that update, and neither its copyright year nor the blog's original date pins down the exact exam version.

The practical takeaway: the 700 passing score and the five domain headings are what the issuer publishes, but you should check the current objectives document and the update archive before you book, so your study matches the live exam. Do not assume that content you studied from an older source reflects the version you will sit. Registration timing questions are covered in ITS-CC Exam Dates 2026.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the ITS-CC exam?

The passing score for IT Specialist - Cloud Computing is 700 on a scale of 1 to 1000. It is a scaled score, so it should not be read as a raw 70% requirement.

How many questions can I miss and still pass?

There is no published number. The exam has an estimated 35-45 questions and uses scaled scoring, so Certiport does not state a fixed miss allowance. Prepare for broad coverage of all five domains instead of targeting a margin.

What is the ITS-CC pass rate?

Certiport does not publish pass rates for this exam, so any specific percentage you see quoted is unverified. Our ITS-CC Pass Rate 2026 article explains what can and cannot be said about the data.

How long do I have to finish the exam?

The maximum is 50 minutes of timed exam time, excluding administration and the tutorial. With 35-45 questions, that works out to roughly a minute or a little more per item.

Do the domains have different weights toward my score?

No official percentage weights are published for the five domains: Cloud Concepts, Developing cloud architecture, Implementing the cloud development life cycle, Deploy the application, and Understanding cloud governance. Study all five rather than betting on one area counting more.

Ready to pass your ITS-CC exam?

Put this into practice with free ITS-CC questions across every exam domain.